Jewish History

The history of the Jewish people begin with the patriarchs (Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob) and matriarchs (Sarah, Rebecca, Rachel, Leah) – specifically Abraham and Sarah. The history of the Jewish people is divided into five different periods: Biblical Period, Second Temple Period, Talmudic Period, Medieval Period, and Modern Period.

*Some of these dates are partially based upon Jewish tradition.

Dawn of History (3760-1700 bce)

Ancient Israelites (2000-539 bce)

Twelve Tribes


Beit HaMikdash

Post-Babylonian Exile (538-129 bce)

Roman Rule (63 bce – 220 ce)

Early Christian/Islamic Period (306-439 ce)

Medieval Christian/Islamic Period (511-1567 ce)


Medieval Jewish Philosophy

Ottoman Muslim Empire (1517-1670 ce)

Contemporary Period (1712-1948 ce)

British Mandate